The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Lambda Lexicon, a broken mic, and Cubase LE
Old 16th December 2010
Here for the gear

Lambda Lexicon, a broken mic, and Cubase LE

Hey there everyone. This is my first post on Gearslutz; it's nice to be here! I've been browsing the forums and have really been impressed with all the professional expertise here.

I've been doing singer-songwriter folk-style music for a few years now and I'm looking to upgrade my home recording equipment after my ~$100 MXL condenser mic stopped working entirely.

After doing some Internet research, I discovered that apparently the Lexicon Lambda interface I've been using has insufficient phantom power. Can anyone confirm this? I thought it worked pretty well the two-ish years that I used it. Then again, I don't have studio ears. And my MXL mic took a 9 volt battery so I might have even fried it using the phantom power on the interface. I'm not sure. But it didn't seem to cause any damage over the two years until it just up and died when I tried to fire it up after an 8 month recording hiatus.

Really, I'd like to know what kind of equipment would be standard/slightly above average/semi-pro quality for a basic home recording set-up on a laptop. I already have Cubase LE (which is okay for me; I'm quite used to it by now) and a mic stand, basics, etc. and the Lexicon interface. But I'd like to find a mid-level microphone.

And, really, to the questions at heart here:

From what I understand, the Lexicon Lambda interface has built in phantom power AND a preamp. Should I expect these to be of mid-range, decent quality? Or is it worth buying a separate preamp and phantom power?