The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Balanced and Unbalanced? Single-Channel Preamps
Old 15th December 2010
Gear Head

Balanced and Unbalanced?

So believe it or not, I've been dabbling in production and audio work for about 2 years now and never really thought about balanced vs. unbalanced cables until I just saw it mentioned in a thread. I know this is probably a newbie question but I already tried to do some research of my own on the topic. Most of what I found consisted of hyper-technical explanations that went way over my head.

Basically, I'm just concerned that I may have been doing something wrong with my cabling and general set-up this entire time without even knowing it. Right now I'm using an SM57, connected to an Echo Audiofire 4 with a Mogami XLR cable. The Audiofire is running out to the ports labeled "RCA (Unbalanced)" on the back of my KRK RP6s. The speaker end of the RCA cable branches into two, one balanced and one unbalanced. I'm assuming I'm supposed to use the unbalanced plug for an unbalanced port? But if my Audiofire is balanced (really have no idea), will this introduce extra noise/hum?

I also just ordered a GAP 73 pre, which further complicates the matter. What type of cables do I need to connect this to my mic/interface, and should they be balanced or unbalanced?

Thanks a ton. This board has proved extremely helpful in the past with all my questions, no matter how noob.
Old 15th December 2010
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by BK4life View Post