The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
So Say I'm going to start treating my room MIDI Processors
Old 30th July 2010
Gear Nut

So Say I'm going to start treating my room

And said room is a 20/9 bedroom (yeah weird I know) with 9 foot ceilings.
HOWEVER, since I am a recently graduated student (and the job market for humanities majors SUCKS) my living situation is kind of constantly in flux.
If I were to have around 2-300 to spend on MOSTLY PORTABLE (as in I can uninstall... will work in most bedroom/small space environments) treatment options, what would you recommend? Bass traps? etc?
I guess I'm looking for suggestions as to the things that tend to be hardest/least effective DIY.
Slutzers you guys are the best!
Old 30th July 2010
Lives for gear

I'll be in the same boat as you in about a week or so.

Might want to try to post it in the Studio Acoustics sub-forum. They have guys Ethan Winer and GIK techs over there.
Old 30th July 2010
Lives for gear

For under $150 you can order corning 703 or 705 with some colored burlap and some 3M adhesive and you'll have 6 amazing 2' X 4' absorption panels.

Fro another $150 or about you can order another 6 of the 703 or 705 and double a few up for bass traps.
You don't need the fancy frames. The frames actually take away form the absorption, cause the block the audio waves from the panels.

All you need is some thing plywood for the back of them so you can hang them to your walls with hooks.

For under $300 bucks you can have 8 broadband and 2 bass traps.

Get the 2" 703 or 703
http://www.readyacoustics.com/index....&cPath=26_3_21

http://www.readyacoustics.com/index....&cPath=26_3_22

For the burlap:
http://www.fabric.com/home-decor-fab...ap-fabric.aspx

For the wood for the back and the 3M adheasive go to home depo
Old 30th July 2010
Gear nut

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Mastering View Post