The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
New studio - what to buy?
Old 22nd May 2003
Here for the gear

Question New studio - what to buy?

Hello all. Long time lurker, first time poster.

I have been recording my own material for years, and learned on old 1/2" r2r tape machines. Even done some razorblade splicing back in the day.

About 2 year ago, I bought a Roland vs-880, in order to move into the digital realm somewhat. Now, I am starting my own record label, and would like to outfit a small studio for my bands to record in. I myself have outgrown the 880 already, and I am forced to use a drum machine most of the time anyway.

Problem is...I have been so far removed from the technology for so long, that I really have no idea where to even begin. I have a decent handle on mics and things, but as far as consoles, decks, computers and whatever else. I have no clue. I am a computer software developer by trade, so I know my way around computers, but I have never taken the time to marry music and computers together.

The only thing I hear over and over from friends who get to regularly record in "pro" studios is ProTools.

So the question I have for you is:

You are starting a brand new studio from scratch. Targetting is going to be indie/garage rock type bands, but you want some flexability built in. One thing I'm not very concerned with is Electronica related stuff. So I am looking at 99.999999% analog instruments. Very rarely will someone even have a synth/keyboard. Your budget for equipment (ie, NOT the room) is around $20-25k. What do you buy?

I'd like to allow room for expansion, in case this turns out to be a resounding success. But what's am adequate basic setup I can get for that kind of money. I need basically everything. All I have now is a VERY basic assortment of mics. (mostly 58s and 57s)