The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Multi-track Fundamentals
Old 19th November 2009
Here for the gear

Multi-track Fundamentals

Hello everyone,

I am a lifelong musician, recently getting into bedroom production. I started getting into studio style recording simply in the interest of improving my 2 track field recordings. I like to record bands that allow audience taping, and the raw results usually leave a lot to be desired. So I started reading up on compressers & limiters etc, and next thing I know I am head over heels into the post-production aspect of field recording. I started using CoolEditPro>Adobe Auditionk, and recently taught myself Ableton Live, which has opened a lot of new worlds for me, specifically MIDI, and quick & easy cut/copy/paste based arranging. I love it so far.

I have in the past produced a couple of very basic tracks for friends, ie just vocals & guitar, and I think they've sounded OK.

So another friend has asked me about recording a more in depth demo, which I am planning on building a track at a time, guitars>vocals>bass>lead guitars>drums. This is partly based on band member schedules, and party based on the fact that I'd like to do most of the tracking (outside the drums) in my bedroom studio, then go to the bands rehearsal space to track the drums last, hopefully once the song is 90% complete on all the other parts.

So I could absolutely hack this thing together with the knowledge I have, and it probably would not sound god awful. But I'm looking for a sort of fundamental roadmap to recording like this. Key things to watch for, maybe where you'd typically place compressers for tracking, would I be better off using my SD Schoeps for vocals or my LD B3, even though it's 1/20 the cost of the Schoeps. What should I track in mono, and what should I track in stereo? Where should the levels average so that I don't blow them out once I mix it down to a stereo track?

Oh yeah, the band will consist of:

1. Lead Vocals
2. Rhythm guitar