The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Utter noob. Help needed
Old 19th November 2009
Here for the gear

Utter noob. Help needed

Hi all, really hope someone out there can help me with a question.

I'm sure there are tons of questions like this but I couldn't find one covering my specific questions.

I'm completely new to this but have wanted to set up a little home studio for ages. I've finally got a bit of spare cash to invest in an entry level set up (audio and midi) and i'm ready to splurge but while I'm looking at what I need I'm getting utterly baffled by the range of different options out there. All I have at the moment is my PC and my electric bass and guitar

Anyway, here's what I'm thinking of getting...

DAW - Cubase 5 Lite (if it's worth it i might stretch to Studio 5)
SoundCard - Lexicon Omega
Midi Keyboard - M-Audio Axiom 49
Monitors - M-Audio AV30
Headphones - Some Sennheiser ones - i forget the model!

Question 1. Is this enough to get me started with a basic home studio set up to record Midi and live audio

Question 2. The soundcards I'm looking at don't seem to have an out for the monitors - where am I supposed to connect them to? (Really dumb question I know!).

Really appreciate any help.

Cheers
Old 19th November 2009
Lives for gear

You can use the Line Out LR 1/4" outputs to connect to your Speakers. The Lexicon website has large images of the back panel.

Good luck =)
Old 19th November 2009
not very specific..

what are you going to be recording?

what kind of vocals, what kind of music, what instruments (other than your electric guitar and bass) etc
Old 19th November 2009
Here for the gear