The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Yet another request for INTERFACE suggestions
Old 11th November 2009
Gear Head

Yet another request for INTERFACE suggestions

I'm an utter novice when it comes to computer recording. I do not use it to it's full extent nor pretend to even know how to. Mostly I use it to host simple 1-VST guitar/bass (Guitar Rig, Amplitube, etc.) solutions and drum (Addictive Drums) VST, and occasionally record some simple instrument tracks to capture ideas. But I've yet to do any serious multi-track recording or heavy VST implementation.

However, I have it in my mind to attempt some more robust VST use in a live environment hosting some sort of serious virtual amp and lots of available effects to morph bass guitar into a dual signal path to drive standard bass sounds in addition to synthy sounds for use in an electronica band. I can do this in hardware but quite honestly it's expensive, takes a LOT of expensive gear, and is really a PITA to manage and control easily due to reliance on physical pedals, mixed into MIDI controlled rack gear, etc. It's out of control. I haven't explored running full VST in depth yet to know how feasible it is, but I'm assuming it is and see a ton of virtualized Moog, filter, etc. VST out there that should seemingly replace and probably vastly surpass the hardware solutions in functionality/features.

My first hurdle is replacing my ancient Aardvark Q10 PCI + 1U rack interface. Has plenty of ins and outs, but is REALLY old, PCI only (so no laptop support), supports XP only, and even then can glitch out due to fairly quirky drivers. I've needed a good reason to replace this and now I have one.

Minimally I need to plug my guitar or bass in, and generate two sets of stereo outs, one for my stage rig one to send to the mixer.

Here what I think my interface requirements are: