The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
ADAM A7 - Room EQ & Tweeter settings?
Old 9th November 2009
Gear Nut

ADAM A7 - Room EQ & Tweeter settings?

Hi guys!
I just picked up making music after yeaaaars even thinking about it. I decided to go for the ADAM A7 monitors and got them used in great condition.

I was woundering is someone could explain the Room EQ and Tweeter settings that theres knobs for in the back of the monitors? Dont got any manual ..
I have them in my bedroom, a not very big non-treated room.
I havent mixed anything really so far with them, i just tried it fast
Heres the file if that helps
http://bazzflyfishing.com/BasselMusi..._Sat7Nov_4.mp3

So i was woundering if someone could help explain how to use these settings.. i understand that it might be hard to give advice on settings since it depends on the room. But i thought id ask anyway since im a noob and dont know much about this matter =)

Regards!
Old 9th November 2009
Lives for gear

Those are frequency shelving filters.
They are useful if you hear too much highs or lows in your room.
If the music coming from your A7s sounds too crispy and fatiguing your ears apply some LP.
If you hear too much bass in your room apply some HP.
That's it.
Old 9th November 2009
Lives for gear

Personally I see no point in using these, even in an untreated room.
Old 9th November 2009
Lives for gear

Yeah - I would leave those alone for awhile (keep them all set to be flat), maybe forever - only consider a change after you understand your room and clearly see how it could help (and if your room is good, changes to those controls could probably only hurt).
Old 10th November 2009
Gear Nut

OK thanx guys
My problem is for example that when i listen to the monitor now this mix sounds really great. Enough bass and nice treble. but when i listen to it in the car its sharp in the high end. I cant hear when a de-esser would be needed as well.

Heres the latest mix that sounds great as it is now.. but im guessing its way to sharp.