The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
new to drum overheads Condenser Microphones
Old 21st September 2009
Gear Addict

new to drum overheads

So I have recently posted a question regarding the At2020 on overheads, and from the comments and posts from other gearslutz I decided to buy the At2020...

I am very new to recording, but before I start, I would like to ask you guys if you have suggestions on how to record drum overheads...how far should the mic be from the cymbals, how far appart?..etc..

I am using a pair of OH mics, both AT2020....
and when I do record the OH and pan them on my DAW, what should the imaging be like? (in terms of like, where should the kick be in the soundfield?and snare..etc...)

I will post the results, and maybe you experts can give me input and comments...:-)

thanks
Old 21st September 2009
Gear Nut

try everything you can think of!

are you close micing the kit too?

one simple thing u can do to make a big difference in sound is mic the OH from in front of or from behind the kit. generally speaking, micing from the front will yield less snare and toms, foccusing more on the cymbals. micing from behind the kit gives you more of a whole drumkit vibe... which can be cool.

u can choose how high the mics are and how wide they are, but generally you want them the same distance from the centre of the snare. you can measure this crudely with a mic cable....
Old 21st September 2009
Lives for gear

To expand what dan_zero said, you want both overheads equidistant from where the drummer is hitting the snare. Also, its good to keep them equidistant from the kick. Search the forums for the "recorderman technique" its a good starting point - not a perfect solution but its good to understand.