The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
I need a microphone and probably a preamp too.
Old 16th September 2009
Here for the gear

I need a microphone and probably a preamp too.

Hey!

I've building a very low budget homestudio for some time now and it has got sort of out of hands as the whole project has evolved into something bigger than just making beats. But as I'm still a student, I'm very much broke and I've no understanding about microphones.

So now I need a microphone and probably a preamp too if my presonus firebox preamps don't cut it. Will they? I've no idea.

There are three things to record. A female singer, male.. uhmm.. rhythmic singer/shouter and occasionally some saxophone and trumpet parts for a jazz/triphop/hiphop/funk project.

So I have around 300 euros/ dollars and I realize it isn't much for a mic and a pre and it would probably divide 2/1 for the mic.

Here are a couple of mics that I'm aware of:

Studio works c1 mk II -I've heard some compliments
Mxl 990 -No idea about this but the price is nice
Mxl 9000 -Don't know this either
Akg c2000b/3000b - I tried the c2000b and it worked better for me than the sm57 I have for micing the bass cabinet. But it still is the only condenser mic I've ever recorded with.
Kel hm2d - I've heard this is a great mic for hip hop, but as the sm57 does that decently I'm not sure it's a good buy considering the female singer is probably the biggest reason for buying the new mic.

And then there are the preamps. I only know the art tube mp, presonus tubepre and studio projects vtb-1 and the SM audio products. What do you think, will I benefit from them instead of just using the pres on the presonus firebox? And if so, which one should I pick? I know that all of these are usually considered crap but with a wallet as thin as mine, I gotta make do.

Anyhow, thanks in advance for any help!
Old 16th September 2009
Lives for gear