The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
On the way to making a tiny low budget studio!!!!
Old 30th June 2009
Gear Head

Question On the way to making a tiny low budget studio!!!!

I am just starting into the whole recording side of things and am planning on jumping straight into the deep end! Extremely dodgy but all the same I am still going to go for it.

Basically on the construction side its 2 rooms, 1 medium size live room and 1 tiny control room.

Now, the equipment...
I am planning on getting a desk with quite alot of channels as I am a drummer,so I will be micing drums, add in voice, keys, guitar, and thats alot of channels.
So I'm going with the Phonic Helix Board 24 U, if I'm smart and get a good B-Stock deal or something, we are talking in the region of €400 to €600! Probably on Digital Village.

Cubase LE4 comes free with that so thats the software sorted for me.

Computer, I will probably have to get a new one, so on this website I found extremely speced out pc's for music production at not too bad prices Music-PC.com : Value-Pro Systems for musicians and producers I was thinking the 2nd one down as I will never have problem with speed, noise, or space, as it has pretty good room in each of those categories.

Monitors, I have not fully made up my mind yet on these, but I have a few ideas, mainly from thomann.de, probably the ESI near05, for €175 on thomann, not too sure if i can find a better price but I'll try!

Right, I have a good condenser mic for vocals, a AUDIO TECHNICA AT2020.

I am planning on getting the set of T.BONE DC1200 drum mic's, for €119 on thomann.de

I am planning on getting head phone preamps, to send into the live room, from the control room, with maybe 5 headphone out's. But I can't find any at a good price or the amin reason being, I don't know the difference between good and bad hp preamps.