The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Question about the RME FF 800 & Octamic D
Old 9th August 2005
Here for the gear

Question about the RME FF 800 & Octamic D

I'm looking to be able to acheive 12 mic inputs for recording, I'm liking the FF800 for the pre amps and converters but was wondering if I attach (if possible, which I'm led to believe it is) an RME Octamic D will that give me the over all XLR inputs I need plus leaving me 6 TLR inputs to spare?

I'm new at this, and would appreciate any help I could get.

If that combo is not possible or advisable, anyone have any suggestions on how to acheive the total XLR and TLR inputs I'm looking for, for around $3000-$4000.
I would prefer to do it without bringing a mixer into picture if possible, since the mixing will be done on the computer, obviously.
Old 9th August 2005
More cowbell!

Even if you didnt use the mixing capabilities, I would still consider the Mackie Onyx line very seriously. It will cost you MUCH less, do more, sound as good or Better, and give you more power for the future. It would be a far simpler and overall more elegant solution to the problem.

http://www.sweetwater.com/store/detail/Onyx1620/

cheers,

KT
Old 9th August 2005
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by natpub
Even if you didnt use the mixing capabilities, I would still consider the Mackie Onyx line very seriously. It will cost you MUCH less, do more, sound as good or Better, and give you more power for the future. It would be a far simpler and overall more elegant solution to the problem.

cheers,

KT
I'll check it out, thanks!
Old 9th August 2005
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by natpub

cheers,

KT
Do you think the upcoming Onyx Firewire interface (the 400F) is going to sound better than the Fireface?

It's only going to be $700 .....of course much much less I/O's....but I could care less about that.
Old 9th August 2005
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Goldcan