The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
biuld a small project studio for recording vocals and guitars
Old 8th August 2005
Gear Maniac

biuld a small project studio for recording vocals and guitars

Hi

I mainly doing dance oriented stuff and remixing club house in the box,therefore im currently using logic 5.51 still on pc, got many synths and virtual stuff, now i want to build me a little project studio,or would i better say a small recording place for recording female vocals( perhaps rap vocals male soon too) and guitars (mainly electric) for my house tunes got into contact with young talented people arround my area.

So here are my questions:
Im really new to this converter ,preamp stuff, i was mainly doing all stuff in the box and got my files ready from other people, now i would like to record it all by myself
and have some questions

i was thinking of the following things:

i need perhaps 2-3 mics a good preamp and some nice converters
thought of perhaps one sm58 for the main rap vocals, a neumann tlm103 for the female parts,yeah i have read i need more mics cause there are different singers and every singer suits an other mic, could you give me an advice on this which 3-4 mics would be a good starting point

for the preamp i would go with a avalon sp737 as the main strip for vocal and guitar cause i really only need one cause im only recording one thing at once and not multirecording , dont know about the converters?!?!?
which one to take

and i think i will switch soon for a used dual g5 in order to use logic pro7 , as a soundcard im using the rme hammerfall hdsp ,

any advice would be nice,thx a lot

greetings wafze
Old 8th August 2005
Quote:
i need perhaps 2-3 mics a good preamp and some nice converters
the sound of a microphone is always connected with the preamp u are using.. that's why people have 10 diffrent preamps around..