The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Studio Instruments
Old 4th August 2005
Here for the gear

Studio Instruments

For those of you who operate a studio business, what studio instruments do you have? Which instruments do you think a good studio should provide, including different guitar amps, etc?
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear

it's pretty common in the studios i've been in that there's a wurly & a rhodes hanging out, and a full-sized piano if there's the room. several others have had a marshall half stack (jcm900, perhaps?), maybe an ac-30, etc.

i think it varies a lot depending on what type of business the studio usually does (no need for a house drum kit if the label is paying cartage for the session drummer, etc.), and the size of the space.

--jon
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear

As a freelancer, I'm often in a position where I book a studio based on whether or not they have a grand piano or a Hammond organ. I never book a studio primarily based on whether or not they have a certain amp or set of drums. That stuff is fun, but secondary in terms of offering something not all studios have. I'd prioritize with stuff people won't likely have themselves or feel like carrying to a session, but would get used a lot. Timpani would be another good one, although I've never booked a studio based on whether or not they had timpani.

Chris Garges
Charlotte, NC
Old 4th August 2005
Lives for gear

i love when studios have great guitars and amps, a kit is nice too. the main reason is that musicians these days have such crap gear,most hi-tech new marshalls and kits and all just sound terrible to me. have a good plexi head or old fender/vox and a nice tuned kit around and it makes recording basic tracks 10 times easier. much more useful than having esoteric studio gear capturing crap instruments.
-brian
Old 4th August 2005
Gear Maniac

I guess it obviously depends entirely on the prospective clientelle.