The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Mic advice for a total beginner
Old 25th February 2009
Here for the gear

Mic advice for a total beginner

Brief setup:

So I'm an engineering newbie, self-recording on a PC, in a largeish carpeted room that's had nothing done to it acoustically (think basic home office). The current project is folk-rootsy, using a lot of acoustic instruments, vocals, and one instrument that plugs in: a Godin A5 fretless bass. I still count it as acoustic: It's semi-hollow, and find I get closer to a standup bass sound (and more of that "fretless bass moan") by mixing the very muddy line sound with a live mic.

The only mics I have I've inherited, a pair of older-generation AKG C1000S condenser mics that my dad used to use onstage. These have been "pretty" satisfactory so far but sometimes produce a fair bit of mud, especially in the low and low-mid range.

So I'm wondering whether there's an all-purpose low-end mic that would be a decent complement for these, in this all-end studio space. In my infinite stupidity, I've only discovered in the last day or two that the C1000S comes with a "polar pattern converter" that slips over the capsule and convers the mics from cardioid to hypercardioid. Sure enough, on investigation, both were wearing these little plastic-and-foam hoods over the capsules: maybe this was to prevent feedback when played live, as they were used with some very sketchy house systems. I've taken the converter off of one mic and put it back together, but I've yet to do some test tracks and compare the sound with it to the sound without it.

I have no formal education with these things whatsoever and can only go by what sounds good-- and even that through some pretty inferior hardware. Can anyone advise me on: