The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Cheap Mic Pre's
Old 24th June 2005
Gear Nut

Cheap Mic Pre's

Hey out there!

This is my first post!! YEAH!! ok, so here's the deal. Here at my house I have a great little digital performer studio. It has been suiting me well for the past 3 of 4 years. Now I am starting to do more recordings with different groups and I think it is time to upgrade just a tiny bit. I am currently using the mackie mixer as the only preamp. I have little money to spend, and I am curious if you think the PreSonus BlueTube DP Stereo Microphone Preamp will give me a better sound than the mackie pre's. I am thinking primarily for vocals, but any input you all have on the situation would be awesome! The PreSonus is just so inexpensive, i'm a little leary of it. Thanks guys!!

Daniel https://www.gearslutz.com/board/newthread...ewthread&f=44#
Old 24th June 2005
Gear Head

I'm no expert on the matter, but I own a couple presonus Tube-Pre's. They're decent little boxes, but nothing too spectacular. What you'll get that the mackie doesn't give you is some tube warmth. However I doubt the Tube-Pre is a "better" preamp. For budget gear I believe the Mackie does a relatively good job.

My only complaint with the Presonus lower end stuff is that the high end is pretty crunchy/scratchy. However it's a decent value considering the price. If you want another pre to play around with, or just to have, the get the Presonus, if you're looking for an UPGRADE, you're going to want to spend more $$ imo.
Old 24th June 2005
Lives for gear

Welcome! Which Mackie are you using? How many inputs do you need total? And what interface/sound card are you using, and finally what kind of toones are you recording?