The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
HELP. What is a good multi track recorder?
Old 13th October 2004
Here for the gear

HELP. What is a good multi track recorder?

I am fairly new to the recording world. I am looking to get a good, pretty cheap, recorder. What ones do you guys recommend? I have been looking at Yamaha aw2816 and aw4416. But I want to know if there is better or whatnot.
Thanks,
Jim
Old 13th October 2004
One with big hooves

Yeah there's better.

Studer A800's are a WHOLE lot better.

What do 'ya wanna do and whuz your budget?
Old 13th October 2004
Gear Addict

I've had good experiences with the roland machines, the 16 and 24 track versions. The preamps aren't great, and the onboard effects are about as good as most plugins, but as a basic deck they're very good.

Myself, i prefer using a computer-based DAW.
Old 13th October 2004
Here for the gear

I just want to record the songs ive made: guitar, drums, bass, keys, etc. My budget is around $900 to $1000 tops. Whatever I end up getting ill get used on ebay or HC.
Thanks for your guys help.
Jim
Old 13th October 2004
Lives for gear

You really need an all-in-one box?
If so, also have a look at the Akai DPS series.
If not, I'd seriously consider a DAW.
Old 13th October 2004
Lives for gear

j tron. with respect with that budget
you might consider an amf athlon pc for a daw.
easily do 60 tracks, and have more editing flexibility.
you can get one for around 500 bucks.
add something like a delta sound card and a small mixer,
and some recording software.
just an idea. if you want more info just ask.
Old 13th October 2004
Here for the gear

Thanks for the info Manning. If you could give me some more info that would be great. Im not too familiar with the DAW so if anyone has info on that too, thats'd be awesome.
Thanks,
Jim
Old 14th October 2004
Lives for gear

If you could give me some more info that would be great. Im not too familiar with the DAW so if anyone has info on that too, thats'd be awesome.