The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
new to recording DAW Software
Old 13th September 2007
Here for the gear

Question new to recording

i am totally new to sound recording anything and i'm looking to get some basic amateur gear to record me playing my guitar. can anyone give me some feedback on types of gear i should look into getting?
thanks, kyle
Old 13th September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by special-K View Post
i am totally new to sound recording anything and i'm looking to get some basic amateur gear to record me playing my guitar. can anyone give me some feedback on types of gear i should look into getting?
thanks, kyle
if you're brand new to this I would really suggest getting a digital 4 or 8 track from Yamaha or Roland or Fostex and a simple and inexpensive micrphone like an SM57.
If you jump into anything more sophisticated I'm afraid you may spend more time upgrading and learning gear than recording guitar. I would be willing to bet that most everyone here began with a tape 4 track in their bedroom.

Of course though your interest may lie more in learning recording, in that case I would still recommend getting a 4 track and learning the basics and start reading books, forums and getting classes or instruction.
Old 13th September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by olivia_nb View Post
I would be willing to bet that most everyone here began with a tape 4 track in their bedroom.
+1 on that for me!
Old 13th September 2007
Lives for gear

WHAT EVER YOU DO