The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Editing freak
Old 13th September 2007
Gear Addict

Editing freak

Hi, this is Magí from Barcelona, a newbie here in GS (just reading for quite a while).

I declare myself as an editing freak, I like everything in his right-right place and I spend a lot of hours editing almost everything I've tracked. This habit gives my productions some kind of naif sound which is ok to my taste (others might prefer leaving those performance imperfections in to keep a more natural groove).

Anyway, this tasks are very time consuming and I would like to check at which point I'm going beyond what's really necessary (I start trusting my ears but I always end matching wave forms to be in sync even between different instruments... ). How do professional engineers approach this subject? Is there people in recording studios meant to do this job?

I've recorded many good musicians which didn't make me feel like I needed to edit everything, so I went with the real take untouched. The problem comes when there are many things to edit, then I end up editing almost every single note .

I'd like to know your point of view. Thanx!
Old 13th September 2007
Gear Nut

I can't help you.
I am the exact same way!

Tom
Old 13th September 2007
I think this is an awful habit from DAW days.
Don't get me wrong, I am from DAW days myself but I edit only what will affect the song.
Let's say a bass player is late on the first attack on the chorus of a song... that just kills the punch of the chorus, go there and put it in place.
Editing is my friend, I get a lot of jobs because how I get those kids bands and make'em sound a little better (because of editing, tunning, etc...)
But unless I'm doing some industral/metal songs, I pretty much leave a good take untouched.
That is my point of view.
Old 13th September 2007