The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
003 Enough Inputs for 2 ADATs? Control Surfaces
Old 10th September 2007
Here for the gear

003 Enough Inputs for 2 ADATs?

I'm pondering the jump to PT-LE and I'm trying to figure out the right interface and I/O options. I like the 003 (control surface, not rack version), but I can't figure out if I will be regretting the lack of inputs. I have a bunch of material on 16 tracks of ADAT (2 old blackface units) and I'm wondering how I'll be able to transfer those sessions into PT through the 003. From the literature (and other posts), it looks like the ADAT lightpipe input on the 003 gets me 8 channels (one ADAT unit's worth). How do I transfer the other 8 channels into PT digitally and fully synched with the first 8? Am I missing something (perfectly possible, since I am a noob to this computer-based recording thing). Advice? Thanks.
Old 10th September 2007
Lives for gear

Get the Profire Lightbridge and Protools Mpowered. You'll have 32 ADAT channels and the same PTLE functionality. Other wise, with 002 or 3 you will have the trnafer them 8 at a time and manually sunc them up - not hard but takes practice.

Lou
Old 10th September 2007
Here for the gear

Thanks, Lou. The Lightbridge looks like a cool unit. I have a (perhaps irrational) desire for knobs and faders, though. Is there an 003-type control surface that will work with M-Powered? Like the Digi 8-control or something? Or perhaps a Lightbridge-type device that can connect between the ADATs and the 003?
Old 10th September 2007
Gear Head

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flickerman View Post
... Is there an 003-type control surface that will work with M-Powered? Like the Digi 8-control or something?...