The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Starting up a low end studio. Condenser Microphones
Old 5th September 2007
Gear Addict

Starting up a low end studio.

Hey guys,

I'm fairly new to recording, and I was looking to record in my bedroom.
I'm 15, and I make and work minimum wage, so I don't have an outstanding budget. I thought up a list of equipment, but if there is anything wrong, or anything else better, just let me know, thanks.

-Custom Computer(2.3ghz, 2 gb RaM, 250-300g hd)
-Presonus Firepod
-Shure Mic Pack(3xSM 57, 1xBeta 52A)
-Shure KSM27
Old 5th September 2007
Lives for gear

Yeah, that'll get ya started. I had a similar setup when I first got going and got pretty good results. What program are you running for your DAW?
Old 5th September 2007
Gear Addict

I know absolutely nothing about the recording software, but I suppose I will start out with steinberg cubase SE.
Old 5th September 2007
Gear Maniac

What instruments, voices will you be recording?
What style of music will you be recording?
Those can make a difference in mic choice.
Old 5th September 2007
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Barnabas View Post
What instruments, voices will you be recording?
What style of music will you be recording?
Those can make a difference in mic choice.
Guitars, drums, bass, keyboards. and I will be recording a variety from Pop-Rock to hardcore.
Old 5th September 2007
Gear Guru

Not going to try to tell you to throw all of you money up front on room acoustics, but if you are just starting out, NOW would be a good time to get a good handle on the importance of room sound (acoustics).

Here are a few links for you to chew on. heh

GIK Acoustics - Education
http://www.sbrjournal.net/journalsit.../Acoustics.htm
Acoustic Treatment and Design for Recording Studios and Listening Rooms

Glenn
Old 5th September 2007
Lives for gear

Quote: