The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Monitoring help for a newbie! Mixers (Analog)
Old 29th August 2007
Here for the gear

Monitoring help for a newbie!

As alluded in the title, I'm quite new to this recording realm so please pardon my ignorance!

I've recently purchased an Onyx 1640 w/firewire option to do some basement recording in Cubase S4 with my new iMac. I've got more than a few friends who are wanting to record but I'm having trouble getting monitor mixes to them all. I'm fairly set on recording to a click yet the click coming from Cubase is only sending to the mains of my 1640 -> something I've learned is one of the downfalls of going this whole Onyx route. Because we're talking a single room studio here, having a click blaring through my monitors really won't work, unless somebody knows how to make click bleed sound tasteful... yeah that was a joke.

Is there any logical way to get the Cubase click to the 6 aux's on the 1640 so I can then route them to a headphone amp for distribution? Am I going to have to plug a metronome into my mixer and then match my tracks up in Cubase post-recording? Though workable, the latter seems to be somewhat primitive... reminds me of when I still ran XP.

Thanks for any help in advance! I can't wait 'til I get something recorded so I can post it on here for all you fellow engineers to review and, in turn, laugh at.
Old 29th August 2007
Gear Head

hello,
I'm sorry to tell you that but the firewire option on your onyx mixer will not allow for more than just monitoring 1 stereo feed from your DAW. The onyx with FW is just not suited for what you want to do.

What you can do however is get an outboard electronic metronome and feed that into one of the onyx channels. Use that to send click to the musicians.