The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Student seeking gear! DAW Software
Old 24th August 2007
Talking Student seeking gear!

Hi all,

First post on these forums! I'm looking to aquire a low-budget system to do some mixing on. I'm studying Music and Sound recording at university and I'm looking at getting some gear so I can produce some rough and ready mixes, that I can take back to uni and finish off on higher quality equipment. My university has computers with Pro Tools, Pro Tools LE, Logic (but only using Headphones to monitor) and Pyramix available.

What I already have:
An Imac, intel, shiny new aluminium one, 2.4 GHz, 500GB Hard Drive, 1 Gig (soon to be 2 gig) RAM. I have no music software other than Garageband '08! :D I'm pretty much starting from scratch here. I'll also very soon be purchasing a pair of Sennheiser HD 650's for use at home and at uni.

So, what I'll need:
Monitors, some form of interface or AD converter and software! I've been taking a look and my Budget is at absolute most a grand (GBP) for the whole kaboodle. I've had various advice from friends, I've been told that the RME Fireface 400 is a good buy and it looks good. But is considerably over my Budget, for monitors, a pair of Samson RubiconR6A's look nice, but does anyone have any experience with them? And as for software, I was thinking of getting Pro Tools, but the cheapest way to use that would be to buy an MBox2 which I have been told is a bit disappointing and expensive.

I've also been told an external hard drive would be a good investment, there's a cheap 500GB that I've found here. But would that be too cheap? Any good external hard drives people can recommend? Would one be strictly necessary?