The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Starting studio need some gear help Condenser Microphones
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Head

Starting studio need some gear help

Hey i am just starting in the recording world and would like some advice in to what i should add next i am a student and would like to know what the best gear for the buck is here is what i have:

White Macbook 2.16 ghz 2 GB Ram
Mbox2
Lacie d2 extreme 320 gig
any input would be nice
Old 15th August 2007
Lives for gear

Get some SM57's and a couple of decent pre's. Maybe an AT4040 or Shure KSM27 for vocals. The Massey plugins are cheap and sound great. Then save your money and don't buy anything else until you've learned what you've got from top to bottom.
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Head

hey thanks man i was wondering what kind of a vocal mic to go with and i am getting some 57s in the near future, and what kind of pre's would you suggest
Old 15th August 2007
Lives for gear

Yeah, no vocal mic will work on every voice, but these are good "all arounders". I wouldn't buy anything expensive until you get some more experience and enough knowledge to form some opinions. The best thing I can share with you is this: Everything depends on what you're recording (the source), and everything is subject to opinion.
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Head

also very good advice thank you
Old 16th August 2007
Gear Head

does any one else have any more advice?
Old 16th August 2007
Lives for gear

What instruments are you recording?

How many sources do you need at one time?

What style of music do you intend on producing?

Do you have a budget in mind?

Soundawg
Old 16th August 2007
Gear Head

Smile