The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
API Lunchbox - A few Q's 500 Series Preamps
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Addict

Question API Lunchbox - A few Q's

Ive been producing now for about 7 years. Got a typical Low End setup, including 2 PC's linked via FX Teleport, Cakewalk Sonar 6PE, Delta1010 interface, SM Pro Audio 8 channel pre, Alesis Monitor Ones and many plugins..

Ive always spent my hard earned dollars on upgrading my PC, upgrading my DAW (Sonar) etc. But am slowly gathering more rack gear, old samplers, synth modules ETC..

Ive been recording more lately - guitar and vocals, as most of my stuff is midi... So Ive been wanting to buy a nice mic pre, compressor and maybe an EQ..

Questions - For lunchbox users - as im too afraid to ask in High End

1. How many of you have an API Lunchbox?

2. Are the modules (once you get the box) worth the money? - In Aus say, the Purple Biz pre is the same price as an ART Gold (dual pre)

3. Apart from in your recording chain, would you use any of the modules (Comps and EQs) when mastering?

Thanks
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Maniac

Even though API has less expensive items, I would hardly call the lunch box low-end. I like the API pres for tracking certain things. The comps are ok, but a distressor would probably be more beneficial. The 512c is not a bad pre and the 550 is a good eq. Your best bet, get two of each. Never for mastering though. BTW, high end people read in the low-end theory as well.
Old 15th August 2007
Gear Addict

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fretbored View Post
I like the API pres for tracking certain things. The comps are ok, but a distressor would probably be more beneficial. The 512c is not a bad pre and the 550 is a good eq. Your best bet, get two of each. Never for mastering though.