The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
MindPrint Envoice LED issue - Any technician here?
Old 23rd July 2020
MindPrint Envoice LED issue - Any technician here?

Hello there,

My MindPrint Envoice (MK1) has a weird issue: sound is going thru but I have no leds working for input/output levels.

I recently opened it, and discovered that a resistance had burnt. (probably 10+ years ago, as the piece already had the issue before).

So I've decided to remove the component and to replace it by a brand new one.
When I've tested the preamp, the leds were still not working... and quickly a burning smell catched my nose. I opened the preamp again, and discovered the resistance has burnt again.

As I'm a newbie at this, I think the component burns for a reason. Changing it without identifying the other issue is pointless. Problem is, how to proceed to find the issue on the board?

Better: if anyone already had this issue on the MindPrint Envoice, please share. Thanks.

-

Here are some pictures of the unit.
The resistance burning is the R5.
Attached Thumbnails
MindPrint Envoice LED issue - Any technician here?-mindprint_envoice_fullview.jpg   MindPrint Envoice LED issue - Any technician here?-mindprint_envoice_leds.jpg   MindPrint Envoice LED issue - Any technician here?-mindprint_envoice_leds-plug.jpg   MindPrint Envoice LED issue - Any technician here?-mindprint_envoice_r5-burnt.jpg  
Old 31st July 2020
Any helper?
Old 1st August 2020
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by _barnee View Post
Any helper?
Can you get some better pic's of the main PCB? That's most likely where your issue is. See if you can find schematics. You did say you replace the LED board, right?
Old 1st August 2020
Village Idiot

Quote:
Hello there,

My MindPrint Envoice (MK1) has a weird issue: sound is going thru but I have no leds working for input/output levels.

I recently opened it, and discovered that a resistance had burnt. (probably 10+ years ago, as the piece already had the issue before).