The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
First cans/monitors for general purposes. Help!
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

First cans/monitors for general purposes. Help!

Hi everyone.
I'm a professional bass/upright player and my birthday approaches. With a budget between 90-150 euro, I want something to mix and listen to music.
I've got an audio interface to do bass recordings and at the moment I haven't got monitors and my cans were lost in a gig. So, let's put things in context:

- My room is untreated and won't be
- Max. 150 euro
- No pro mixing, but something relatively reliable
- If I choose cans, they don't need to be closed, since I record plugged, even with double bass.
- No chance to try or compare anything in shops.

So, reading lots of stuff, I'm leaning towards headphones (Sony 7506, Akg 702... m50x...). But cheap monitors like new Mackie CR4x could be an option.
Thanks in advance for your help.
Old 3 weeks ago
Try to save a couple more bucks and get Sennheiser hd600

I have a lot of cans... 7520s, akg 701, focal elegia (which are 3x the price of the Sennheiser)

The 600s beat all of them, quite easily for me. The low end is just right and the resolution is spectacular.
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

I have a few sets of phones but my Senn hd650s are the most reliable and enjoyable to use.
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

Thanks, but it's a gift and by no means it can be over 150 bucks.
Old 3 weeks ago

I recently got the 250 Ohm DT770 Pro from BeyerDynamic.

Not that I have a lot of high end cans, but they reproduce the lower octaves very well. Very natural with lots of bass extension.

-tINY

Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear

martisanma, where are you?
Old 3 weeks ago
Gear Head
I’ve tried several in this budget range, and I came out liking the Beyerdynamic dt770 the best... you can even get good deals secondhand if that helps budgetwise... should be no more than 60-70€ second hand, or right in the middle of ur price bracket new...