The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
purchased a second hand nt1-a, and it might be broken.
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear
purchased a second hand nt1-a, and it might be broken.

So I recently decided my voice acting booth needed a bit of an upgrade. So I went looking. Price needed to stay low because a certain global pandemic is shortening your boys funds at the moment. I settled with this second hand nt1-a for around 150 USD, which was a steal for that mic. I bought it and was so excited i sorta forgot to test the darn thing before I bought it. Now, I'm no expert but im pretty sure when you plug in the microphone and makes sure cables and interface is all good, including phantompower, the microphone is suppossed to work. I've got no sound output whatsoever other than the a little whine when I initially plug in the microphone. if sound clips are needed I can provide. I've checked about every thing under the sun, I replaced the cable, audio interface, DAW, tried a different pc, still no dice. I figured before I open this thing up I should come on one of these forums to try to get some possible answers, and if i get non someone could at least help me figure out what needs re-soldering on here. i'll share the current setup im trying to run the mic off (tested with an at 2020 and a sure model 565SD to make sure it wasn't the interface)
rode nt1-a (obviously)
behringer u-phoria UM2 (though I have a scarlet 2i2 as well, just wired into my booth and is hard to get out)
a few miscellaneous XLR cables that are all tested to work with the previously mentioned microphones.
if you need more let me know! could really use some help figuring out what exactly is going on here.