The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Help choosing a mixer for techno play
Old 4 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Help choosing a mixer for techno play

I play and compose techno. My current gear is: Roland TR8S, Korg Volca Sample and PO-35 Speak. I don't own a mixer of any kind yet so what would you recommend to buy. It would be for home and live playing and I would like it to have some room for new gear.

I'm a complete beginner but I would like something better than beginner level mixer. Something that I don't need to replace before my synths and all are worth over 2000-3000$. I've heard a lot of good about Mackie's mixers but which one? Price category 100-400$ if possible.

My problem with mixers is that I have no idea what I actually need. Like it seems that all mixers advertise that they have good mic ports etc. and I'm not planning to use even a single microphone. I'm a missing something or looking at wrong kind of mixers?

Then how many channels do I need? I know the TR8S have many outputs but do I need them all in the mixer. If I get few synths more is 8 channels enough or should I go straight for 16 or something?

What are the most important features for a mixer used to play techno?
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear
I'm not sure if I asked something stupid or is it just that any mixer would do but some kind of an answer would be great!
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear

I had this question for a while, I think a lot of people working with electronic music do. Basically almost all mixers have a bunch of mono channel strips and a small amount of stereo inputs. Often all the fun stuff on the mixer like eq and filters are only on the mono channels. Going big just gives you more channels but with the same ratio and take up loads of space which I don't have.

I almost went with a Neve summing mixer, the 8816 which has all stereo channels, and some useful other stuff, and can add a fader box.