The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Headphones physically hurting my ears. Any solutions under $100?
Old 9th September 2019
Here for the gear

Headphones physically hurting my ears. Any solutions under $100?

Recently my music setup changed and now I'm using headphones most of the time. The ones I currently have (Panasonic RP HTF295) I cant use for more than an hour without being in agony with the cup bending my ears back. The pain still lasts the next day in some cases. I have somewhat large protruding ears. Not exactly Dumbo, but I've defo had a few shouts in my school years!

I'm not a pro audio guy and neither is my work. I need something for under $100, that will do a job for mixing and be comfortable.

I understand someone posted a similar thread last year but there was no resolution to that an I would really like to continue making music.

To be clear the pain is physical, and its definitely coming from the actual pressure of the cups holding my ears back. My current headphones are actually advertised as "over the ear" but I feel like they may not be suited for my lugs.

Hope somebody with a similar experience can help.
Old 9th September 2019
Lives for gear

Just try different models. Some over-ears are larger than others and more comfortable. Try K701 AKG like types, Beyerdynamics or Sennheiser HD models. You will find that it depends so much on you that others can't be of much help. Some find headphones very comfortable that others can't wear for more than 10 minutes.
Old 9th September 2019
Gear Maniac

My experience with Sennheiser and BeyerDynamics is great and they're comfortable to wear.
I've no experience with them in your budget range but if you can stretch your budget a little higher for something like a BD 770/880/990 you won't regret it. (I 've the 990)