The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
I want to upgrade from Yamaha HS8, any advice for my taste?
Old 17th June 2019
Here for the gear

I want to upgrade from Yamaha HS8, any advice for my taste?

Hi, I'm not a musician or engineer, but I listen to music on Monitors, because I want true Sound with a flat response. I am using Yamaha HS8 with the HS8S sub and my interface is an Audient iD44. I am impressed with the Interface, but the monitors are boring me. I find the stereo imaging to be quite poor. The front-to-back stage is very narrow for my taste and the reverb of instruments sounds weak unlike my headphones HPH-MT8.

Today I've been listening to the Neumann KH 310 in the music store. I really liked the details because it's a high-res speaker. The Yamaha hasn't got the details. And the bass of the Neumann was much more realistic. It didn't sound artificial and the whole sound character was more pleasing and real.

There's a little problem with the Neumanns. I found it not so easy to seperate the instruments, because the sound is softer. Is this true?

But I couldn't listen to a couple of other monitors because they weren't connected today. I found out about the brand ATC. They seem to buid superior speakers. What about the entry-priced models? How do they compare to Yams or Neumanns? The Neus are 3-way and I love the bass. I can imagine that I would miss the bass on same-priced ATC speakers and I've not enough cash for an additional sub in this price range.

I don't listen to electronic stuff at all. I like folk, symphonic, metal etc. My absolute preference is a good stage and an organic sound, because of my music Genres. I want to hear the wood of a violin.

What else can you recommend or what can you say about Neumann and ATC?
Old 17th June 2019
Deleted e999d8e