The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Streaming PreAmp- Dbx 286s, 376, or Other
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Streaming PreAmp- Dbx 286s, 376, or Other

I am an aspiring streamer and am trying to change how my soy filled voice sounds.

The DBX 286s has a low frequency enchancer that I think it will compliment my voice well, it also has a few other effects that I want- e.g. noise gate.

Then I found the 376, and while searching for an answer I saw a post on this forum and some one said you guys criticize it.

I'm new to the audio scene, but I understand the bare fundamentals.

Should I get the 376 or the 286? Are there any problems with the 286 or 376? Thanks!
Old 3 weeks ago
Lives for gear
A “soy filled voice” might turn into a popular trend. I have to say, in decades of audio I’ve never heard anyone complain about a voice having too much soy. “More soy!” might become the “More cowbell!” of the 2020s. Or not...
As to channel strips, DBX knows something about compression, so that is likely to be the best feature of both of those strips. I’ve used the 286 and find it to be an unremarkable pre apart from the compressor, which is OK at least. The low and high enhancement sections didn’t do anything I like. They do some cartoonish things that don’t sound like really good audio to me, but you may hear them differently.
I haven’t heard the DBX tube pre, and I haven’t heard anything good or bad about it, which is a little unusual.
Old 3 weeks ago
Here for the gear
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bushman View Post
As to channel strips, DBX knows something about compression, so that is likely to be the best feature of both of those strips. The low and high enhancement sections didn’t do anything I like. They do some cartoonish things that don’t sound like really good audio to me, but you may hear them differently.