The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
One to rule them all - mid range condenser mic help
Old 15th May 2019
Here for the gear

One to rule them all - mid range condenser mic help

Hi guys, I am going to build simple home studio, with basic JBL 305P MK II monitors, Steinberg UR22 MK II DAW and Cubase Pro. Last thing I need to choose is one and only condenser mic.

Mic will be used mainly for:

- recording electric guitar (2x12 cab), clean, overdriven and heavily distorted
sounds

- recording acoustic guitar

- occasionally vocals - mid range, no very low or high pitches

Room is not acoustically treated, it is just my humble living room. Maybe I will buy some micscreen, which will be placed behind the mic for at least basic treatment (not sure if it will help much though).

I have no real experience with condenser mics. I narrowed selection to the four models in similar price range with regards to the reviews and their popularity. However, I cannot decide and choose one.

1) Audio-Technica AT 2050
2) AKG C214
3) RODE NT2-A
4) Sennheiser MK4

I dont want to make it complicated and analyze every single nuance and aspect - I cannot tell it yet, I do not even have taste for mic personalities. It is too soon for that.

I just want good, as much as possible noiseless mic, which will be equally good on clean and distorted guitar and ideally vocals as well. Maybe neutral sounding mic with smooth high end and good definition is something I am looking for. You know, the one bitch for all. Switchable patterns are not a priority for me, I guess dB pad and other features are not either, since it will be used at home.

Thanks a lot for your help and sorry for my english.

Vasek
Old 15th May 2019
Lives for gear

Take your choice. Chances are a single mic isn't going to be ideal for all situations, especially condensers which have allot of top end.