The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Audio interface and accessories
Old 25th April 2019
Here for the gear

Audio interface and accessories

Hello everyone, newbie here. Please excuse any silly questions.

Looking for a USB audio interface for recording hip hop and voice over. I have new built PC with two USB gen 2 on the rear panel and a 2011 iMac with a thunderbolt port. I purchased an MK300 that I used for $220. Couldn't find much other than someone saying it's a good mic, but requires a lot of gain. My searches keep leading me to the starlet 2i2. Then there's the scarlet solo, which is the same, but with only one mic Jack. I plan to also get a dynamic mic, but don't plan on using them at the same time. How soon I puchase will depend on how much noise I get with the MK300.

Are the 2i2 or the solo good, should I look for something higher quality?

Do i need a preamp?

When I say, I'm a newbie, I mean I've never used anything and get my info from YouTube.

Also, I just have the mic alone. I think I need a stand, cables and spit guards. Any rfecommendation?

Is there anything I'm forgetting?
Old 25th April 2019
Gear Maniac

The 2i2 is a very good low cost interface. You also get quite a lot of handy bonus plugins with it
through their plugin collective program. While not everything is still available, I've actually gotten
more than 1 plugin that exceeded the cost of the interface. I have 2 of them actually, mostly
because they were cheap and readily available locally.

Anyway, not the greatest interface available, but one of the most popular and affordable. You
cant go wrong imho. Although, later on you might want more than 2 inputs and then it will
need to be kicked to the curb.

*You probably don't need a preamp, unless you want one.

Last edited by pekbro; 25th April 2019 at 10:05 PM.. Reason: Addendum
Old 26th April 2019
Here for the gear