The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
The Truth about Plugins. Dynamics Plugins
Old 22nd March 2019
Gear Maniac
The Truth about Plugins.

This is a post for total beginners who are where I was a couple years ago, totally new to plugins and not knowing where to start.

There is a lot of marketing out there. Online blogs and articles written by a company that makes plugins is, of course, going to advertise their plugin. A portion of Youtube audio guides are also created or sponsored by companies. This is not necessarily a bad thing; some of these guides do have some very good tips in them, but just be aware.

Once you learn what the plugins actually do, they become less exotic and seen as tools. A compressor, for example, reduces volume by a ratio after the threshold is exceeded, and are additionally controlled by attack and release times. There's no secret sauce; a compressor is a mathematical algorithm that affects the dynamics. A free one will do the job; a $50 compressor will also do the job. Would you buy a $50 scientific calculator app for your computer when there are free ones?

There are websites that sell $200 EQ plugins, and we should be realistic about this; is a +2db high shelf on a $200 plugin really going to sound different than a +2db high shelf on a stock plugin.

What do you get when you buy a premium plugin?
* Graphics/aesthetics
* Presets
* Maybe a more comfortable ; user-friendly interface (subjective; depends on your tastes)
* Maybe some little QOL features

What you won't really get from them is better sound quality or better mixes. That can really only be acquired by spending a lot of time learning and practicing.

The honest truth is that if your mixes aren't sounding great with your DAW's stock plugins, they're not going to be great with premium plugins.