The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Help! Stuck finding suitable audio interface
Old 19th March 2019
Here for the gear

Help! Stuck finding suitable audio interface

Hey,

First post here, after reading reviews and forums for some time now i got lost completely between the options (or lack thereof)..

I have an M Audio FastTract Ultra, which does not like win10 so i need to find an interface for cubase, which
- should cost about 3-500eur (no set in stone, but don't want to spend in vain, i'm no expert)
- should have MIDI,
- should have good sounding AD/DACs as much as possible for a low price (better then my current)
- should have inputs for guitar/bass/mic plus some without preamp
- most of all should work stable in the software environment
- have an okay latency with a handful of VSTi's and recording
- should work via usb

Most likely i'll have to order via net, would be nice without trial/error.

I was looking at
audient id22 - has no MIDI.. i could still get a MIDI card, but also have seen issues with win10 there
clarett 2Pre - if i saw it right on focusrite page it might have issues with win10
steinberg ur-rt2 - seems like a ripoff at first sight, with nice logos - people seem to dislike the DACs, still i expect it to work flawlessly with cubase at least.

Also my speakers are dead atm, i could get a Mackie MR6mk3 monitor - would that work for mixing? Or do i need something substantially better so that talking about DACs makes sense at all?
I'd really like to have a stable setup to which my ears can catch up and get better.

Any insights would be welcome
Old 19th March 2019
Gear Nut

have you looked at the steinberg ur44?

It has all the features you need and is within your budget. i wouldn't worry about ad/dac to much within that pricerange. there are always better converters...