The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Looking for Easy Drum Machine
Old 11th March 2019
Here for the gear

Looking for Easy Drum Machine

Hey guys,

First post on here. Hoping to get a helpful response.
I'm a solo song writer/guitar/singer producer and I'm weak when it comes to making my own drums, so I think getting a drum machine might help.

I'm look for a something easy to learn, like the Roland R-8, and realistic sounding like the Elektron Analog Rytm 8-voice Drum Computer, at the same time portable, with hopes of obtaining a somewhat 80's sound. I make indie/emo rock. Hoping to spend less than $500. I know it seems pretty specific, but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks all!

- R

Last edited by nevertrender; 11th March 2019 at 01:38 AM.. Reason: added price.
Old 11th March 2019
Lives for gear

I don’t know what you mean by realistic sounding like the elektron...

Though so much more than a drum machine, if you need realistic (acoustic?) sounds, you probably need samples...I would gravitate towards something like an MPC. Older models probably more than adequate if you can’t go for a current model.
Old 11th March 2019
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by nevertrender View Post
Hey guys,

First post on here. Hoping to get a helpful response.
I'm a solo song writer/guitar/singer producer and I'm weak when it comes to making my own drums, so I think getting a drum machine might help.

I'm look for a something easy to learn, like the Roland R-8, and realistic sounding like the Elektron Analog Rytm 8-voice Drum Computer, at the same time portable, with hopes of obtaining a somewhat 80's sound. I make indie/emo rock. Hoping to spend less than $500. I know it seems pretty specific, but any advice would be appreciated.

Thanks all!

- R
Just so I understand what you're asking, do you want your drums to sound like a real drum set or more like an 80's electronic drum machine type of sound?