The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Versatile alternative to M179 (2018) Condenser Microphones
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Versatile alternative to M179 (2018)

Hi. My first post here, so I hope I don't make any blunder

I was wondering whether you could help me out on choosing my first microphones.

Short story is, I (a complete beginner at recording) would like to start recording some stuff at home. Nothing serious, just some ideas, and I would like to start learning how to record music etc. The things I'd like to record would include (in the order of decreasing priority):
  • voiceovers / reading kind of stuff (male voice, more in the lower registers)
  • acoustic cello
  • acoustic guitar (classical & 12-string)
  • electric guitar through a tube amp (with some low sounds - 8-string)

From what I read, most instruments require more than one mic to properly capture their sound. This is why I was thibnking about getting two microphones.

After some research, I was thinking that for the electric guitar I would be getting an Audix i5 - since I like it more than e.g. SM57 after listening to various blind tests etc. That would set me back around $100 USD incl. shipping here in Europe. But since that recording scenario is the least important to me ATM, that might yet change.

Now, for the other scenarios, I was thinking about an LDC. My intended budget was up to $250-300 USD. The mic should be as versatile as possible (with recording guitar cabs capabilities being the least important, since I plan to use the i5 for that when the need arises). So after reading quite a bit, I've decided on a CAD M179 - great value for money, neutral, versatile with multi pattern, with good reviews - perfect!