The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
If I could have only one mic (under 2k), what would you recommend?
Old 1st November 2018
Gear Head
If I could have only one mic (under 2k), what would you recommend?

I’m thinking about taking a plunge and buying a high quality mic that is versatile to use on vocals, electric guitar amps, acoustic guitars, and even as the only mic on a drum kit.

I have mics, but none of them are high-end.

I’m looking to get one that is an all-purpose workhorse (or simply high quality and versatile).

I have a home studio. I’m not a pro. I want to make my recordings special, though.

Thank you,

Chris
Old 1st November 2018
Shure SM57
Old 1st November 2018
Lives for gear

There’s not a lot you can’t successfully mic with an AKG C414. I like the eb models including the often overlooked Teflon capsule variation.
Old 2nd November 2018
Gear Maniac

A big part of me wants to say Neumann TLM 49. I can't think of anything I've put it on and been disappointed.

Might not be the thing for single drum mic, though. I believe the max spl rating is like 110 dB or something around there. Drums can pretty easily go north of 110, especially if your dealing with a heavy hitter.

I've never not liked it on pretty much anything else.
Old 2nd November 2018
Deleted 86c3d96
Used Gefell UM70, and some money left over.
Old 2nd November 2018
Lives for gear

RE20
Old 2nd November 2018
Quote:
I have a home studio. I’m not a pro. I want to make my recordings special, though.
A mic will not make anything special, as you put it. Get an SM57. Its widely used in every studio and there is not as pro studio that does not have it in their mic locker. Its also good as a meat tenderizer!!

If you cannot make your recording special with a $99 SM57 ,then no mic will help you.
Old 2nd November 2018
Lives for gear
Coles 4038
Old 2nd November 2018
Gear Maniac

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Mastering View Post