The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
New Studio and TAC consoles Consoles
Old 17th May 2018
Here for the gear

New Studio and TAC consoles

Hey gang,

Long time lurker here, never posted before, but I've recently gotten the opportunity to open my own studio. Things are still in the preliminary stage so nothing is set in stone yet, but with a little luck we'll be doing so in the next few months. It will be a video production studio during the day, recording studio at night (when the neighboring businesses close so we can make noise). Should be fun!

Anyways, I've been working ITB for the last several years, though I trained on API and Tascam boards back in college (yes, very wide spread between quality levels); I've also had limited experience using Allen & Heath and Mackie live boards. Currently I'm running an Apogee Element 46 for just doing stuff at home. However, i'd like to make a serious upgrade and dip my toes back into the analog world for this new studio. A producer I interned with recommended I look into a TAC Matchless mixer as they're good value for the money. However, was reading an article (https://www.proaudioeurope.com/info/...ixing-consoles) that trash talks TAC/AMEK a bit for their unreliability these days made me a bit concerned.

Matchless consoles seem to be hard to find but I've seen several TAC Scorpions for sale on Reverb, and they have the same EQ and Preamps (I think, finding the history of these has been challenging). Has anyone had any experience with these desks? Since I'll need an A/D converter/interface (was looking at antelope audio orion??), I can't drop as much money as I'd like on an analog desk, trying to keep the total price for desk and A/D under $5k. Apart from the TACs i've seen, i've seen some old Soundcraft and Tascam mixers pop up in my budget.