The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
Connecting 4 headphones to monitor outputs of my Scarlett 18i8 audio interface Headphone Amps
Old 1 week ago
Here for the gear

Connecting 4 headphones to monitor outputs of my Scarlett 18i8 audio interface

I would like to use the monitor outputs of my Scarlett 18i8 audio interface to feed into 4 headphones. After some research (I'm kinda new to all this), I understand that I need to plug an headphone amplifier to the Scarlett's monitor outputs (which are line-level outputs).

However some headphone amplifiers that I find use an headphone-level input, and *not* a line-level output.

Thus my question is: amongst the following products, which ones can take a line level input, rather than a headphone-level input?
1) Behringer Amp800
2) Samson S-Amp
3) Art HeadAMP4
4) PreSonus HP4
5) Any other cheaper headphone amps are welcome (since we are in the Low End Theory part of the forum )

Note that I am on small budget :/

Many thanks to you audiophiles,
Briac
Old 1 week ago
I've got one of these, and it works fine for doing tracks for a few people at a time. Since it has a TRS stereo input, a 1/4" insert cable works perfect for connecting it to 2 (L & R) 1/4" line outputs from a mixer or interface. Runs about 50 bucks new.
Rolls Corporation - Real Sound - Products HA43 Pro Headphone Amp

If each guy needs a separate monitor mix things become a little more complicated, and expensive. For that you need multiple phone buses in your DAW, each feeding separate pairs of interface outputs, which then feed either separate headphone amps or a multichannel headphone amp. Alternatively, a console with multiple Aux bus outputs could be used for this, with the separate mixes set up on the console instead of within the DAW.
Old 1 week ago
Lives for gear