The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Is it possible to record a good amp sound by zoom q8?
Old 3rd March 2018
Here for the gear

Is it possible to record a good amp sound by zoom q8?

Hi everybody, I'm a beginner of recording. I didn't know any recording software so I started using a zoom q8 to mic my guitar amp. I tried it with a shure sm57 to mic my laney lt5 but the sound is sooooo crap. no matter where I place the mic it sounds hard and thin, just like a sound from 50$ little amp, no dynamic at all. Also it sounds a little more gain than the real sound. Even worse than record by iphone.

Anyone has recording experience by zoom q8? Is it possible to record a good sound? Please share some experience.

PS. my q8 setting is MOV 3M HD/30 24M video and WAV 96kHz/24bit. X/Y mic off (when it's on the sound is much more bright but still no dynamic)

Su
Old 3rd March 2018
Yes, anything is possible. As long as you understand what you need to do to get the sound you want recorded. A lot of it has to do with your mic placement and angle of placement and the room you are in.
The SM57 has recorded thousands of great guitar sounds, if not millions.
The Q8 has the same sound quality you'll find in all Zoom's stuff. It has high-resolution 24-bit/96kHz audio.

So it is possible, so you may need to be more diligent in experimentation with your mic placement and the area of the room you record in.

CJ
Old 3rd March 2018
Here for the gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by CJ Mastering View Post
Yes, anything is possible. As long as you understand what you need to do to get the sound you want recorded. A lot of it has to do with your mic placement and angle of placement and the room you are in.
The SM57 has recorded thousands of great guitar sounds, if not millions.
The Q8 has the same sound quality you'll find in all Zoom's stuff. It has high-resolution 24-bit/96kHz audio.