The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 Search This Thread  Search This Forum  Search Reviews  Search Gear Database  Search Gear for sale  Search Gearslutz Go Advanced
What's up with the air?? Studio Monitors
Old 6th March 2007
Gear maniac

What's up with the air??

Hi all

I'm new here in gearslutz. I'm a titled sound engineer but yet a young padawan of the sound. I work in a small studio in my small city somewhere in europe. I've been having one big doubt since I almost started to work and this seems to be the perfect place to solve it

The question is this: Is everyone in every studio around the world adding "air" to the things? I did the mixes from the book "Production and mixing with Waves" and I found myself adding air to some things in the mix, to make it sound more natural and interesting.
What's going on with the "air"? Could it be the recording room (probably, eh)? Or the gear in the studio: U87 (almost everything is recorded thru it, I don't think it to be the problem because obvious reasons), Avalon pre mic amp (same, i dont think it to be the problem) or creamware A16 AD converter (maybe, uh?). Or it's just that everyone out there is adding "not real air" with eq?
I can't afford an expensive AD converter or record in a better room to test so I will appreciate your comments and experience.

many thanks for reading
Old 6th March 2007

Maybe it's your tweeters - or your signals are too clean and you aren't generating distortion in the upper harmonics.

It wouldn't bother me.....

You may try a BBE Sonic maximizer or an Aural Exciter. These can add some artificial air sometimes.

-tINY

Old 6th March 2007
Gear maniac

I have used the BBE and it does a great job but my question is: is everybody adding 14-20k with eq (or exciters) usually?? or... the problem is my gear or my room, so I have to add 14-20k with eq to match the comercial sound?? what do you think??
Old 7th March 2007

Are you using dynamic mics?

-tINY

Old 7th March 2007
Gear maniac