The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
What next?
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Head

What next?

Hello everyone,

I've been lurking for a while (helped me with some purchases I made) and I finally have a question to ask you good people.

I'm relatively new to the whole recording scene, but I am about to go to school for it in September, what a great passion this has become!

I'm running a laptop studio (Macbook Pro DualCore) with a Digi 002r (with the Factory bundle) a PodXT for guitars (I'm going to be living in an apartment, so micing a proper amp wouldn't be feasible) an MXL V67, Shure SM57, an M-Audio Keystation (it was free, not a big fan of the feel of it, though it's fine for basic synth) and a pair of Sennheiser HD280s.

I'm wondering, what is the next purchase I want to make? I intend to blow this little laptop studio into a nice home studio eventually, so I want to make purchases that will be beneficial for a while. Do I want preamps? Monitors? A Mixing board? Some plug-ins or maybe some outboard compressors/eqs? Like I said I want what I buy to be valuable for the long-term so money is only moderately an issue.

Thanks so much, I look forward to discussing some gear with you all!

Alex
Old 8th February 2007
Gear Nut

I would say, and I know a lot less the some of these guys, but you might want to look at a chanel strip, or at least a pre.
Old 9th February 2007
Lives for gear

you have some basics, so keep having fun with them and put the cash into a high interest account. when you have more education you will find out for your self what you need. having 3k set aside gives you alot of freedom when you decide want you want next and earns you the few more bucks that take care of the unexpected expences so you can still buy the thing you really want.

or get some decent monitors so you arnt limited to headphones.
Old 9th February 2007
Lives for gear

Put the machine maintenance first, without that you have nothing, no matter what other toys you have!