The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
recording single fingerpicked acoustic guitar with limited gear - HELP!
Old 14th January 2007
Gear Addict

Question recording single fingerpicked acoustic guitar with limited gear - HELP!

hi, i have limited equipment and was wondering what you're thoughts are on mic selection and mono/stereo micing techniques for a fingerpicked acoustic guitar part...

Guitar - Takamine EAN40C
Body Shape: NEX Cutaway
Top: Solid Cedar
Back: Solid Mahogany
Sides: Mahogany
Fingerboard: Rosewood

Mics
Rode NT1A
AKG c2000B
Shure Beta 87A
Shure SM57
Audix OM3

any thoughts much appreciated,
cheers!
Old 14th January 2007
Gear Maniac

you can try recording your DI output of the guitar while recording with either one of your condensor mics to get more detail. Then blend them. You can even use both condensors in XY (angled 90 degrees to each other) somewhere from a foot to two feet in front of the 14th fret. Experiment though.

I'm not experienced with the mics you have but I find that a nice bright microphone (in my case, a SDC) sweetens the sound of a fingerpicked mahogany
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

I would try the 57 at about the 12th fret, and the rode right around the sound hole. I've been using this setup with a 57 and an AT4050 set on omni, and it sounds so good.....it's too bad the rode is only cardioid, I love LDC omnis on acoustics
Old 15th January 2007
Lives for gear

Experiment with closed headphones on. If the track is going into a mix, you would probably want a thinner sound than if it's going to be a solo piece. 2 mics, definitely. One might end up looking down at the guitar over your right shoulder, or it might be aimed at the bridge from a foot away from the end of the guitar. Searching for sweet spots is what it's all about. That's the beauty of recording. Although there are guidelines, there are no rules, and the more you experiment the more you'll learn. Conversely, if you don't experiment, you'll never know what you're missing.