The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
Compression on drums
Old 14th January 2007
Gear Nut

Compression on drums

I am very new to recording drums. I've done countless acoustic tracks for myself and I've ****ed around with guitar/synth/e-drum stuff but never real drums.

So I have four tracks of compression to use (an ART Pro VLA and dbx 266). When actually tracking I would assume I just want to compress the overhead mics?

What about mix-down on the drums? How would I go about sending just the two stereo drum tracks back out of my system into one of the compressors?

My setup right now is...
MOTU 828mkII
Soundcraft Spirit M12 board
Garageband/Logic Express
Old 14th January 2007
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by gutsofgold View Post
I am very new to recording drums. I've done countless acoustic tracks for myself and I've ****ed around with guitar/synth/e-drum stuff but never real drums.

So I have four tracks of compression to use (an ART Pro VLA and dbx 266). When actually tracking I would assume I just want to compress the overhead mics?

What about mix-down on the drums? How would I go about sending just the two stereo drum tracks back out of my system into one of the compressors?

My setup right now is...
MOTU 828mkII
Soundcraft Spirit M12 board
Garageband/Logic Express
Depends.
What kind of music are you recording? Does the drummer knows how to play in the studio?
Old 14th January 2007
Gear Nut

The music is an indie rock sound. The drummer is a kid who is very talented but not much experience in a studio. He understands the concept of consistency in his hits but I'm sure there will be times where he won't follow through on it.
Old 14th January 2007
Lives for gear

Be sure to make him practice with the metronome. I think that's the key.

As for your main concern.
I would use the ART PRO VLA on a pair of overheads (ribbons for indie rock are killer)