The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Best active speakers for mobile DJ work
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Best active speakers for mobile DJ work

I have been DJing weddings pretty much every weekend for 8 or 9 years. For the reception I have been using Mackie SRM450's and and 2 SWA1-801 subs. Then I stripped down to 1 sub, and for the last year, pretty much doing 2 SRM450's only. I have a pair of the newer ones and a pair of older ones. I setup and break down by myself, so I'm trying to make my job easier. When you're not A/Bing them, the 450's sound good and have been solid for me. If you were only going to be running one pait of speakers, like I am, what would you choose? I want to buy one really good pair and use the 450's for ceremony, dinner, backup , etc. I have considered the new Mackie srm650 (15"), the QSC, RCJ, JBL, etc.
Old 22nd October 2013
Lives for gear

If budget allows, Yamaha DSR or lower DXR. Of course for DJ's you'll want the subs.
Old 23rd October 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by azndnbdub View Post
If budget allows, Yamaha DSR or lower DXR. Of course for DJ's you'll want the subs.
RCF ART422As. You can have my ART322As (previous model) when you pry them from my cold, dead fingers. Unbelievably hifi for 50 lb plastic boxes, and the 2" horn will throw for days... decently full bass (though not SW1801 thumping... physics is, after all, a set of laws... not suggestions).

HB
Old 23rd October 2013
Gear Addict

Any of the qsc boxes. No question
Old 23rd October 2013
Lives for gear