The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
Vocal FX pedals live - feedback issues
Old 22nd October 2013
Here for the gear

Vocal FX pedals live - feedback issues

Hi all!

I'm a FOH live engineer in a small venue, we've got difficult room with low ceilings, but generally handle feedback fine with our graphics, however, i have had problems on a couple of occasions with vocal effects pedal. I've found that good ways to deal with issues are to take out any compression stages they have on, and to play with the front gain stage (which annoyingly not all pedals have..)

Just wondered if anyone else had any tips? I've always managed to end up with a decent sound in the end, but obviously aiming to be more efficient about it.

Also, does anyone have any opinions on which pedals are better or worse for feedback, or in general? I had the Boss VE20 on stage last night and didn't really get on with it, don't know if it's how it was set up, but it sounded thin to me, and was difficult to manage feedback wise.

Thanks in advance.
Old 22nd October 2013
Lives for gear
Feedback in the monitors or the mains?
Are you splitting the vocal channel and taking a dry (no fx) and a wet (fx) to the board? That should be your first step. That will help in both cases.
Old 22nd October 2013
Lives for gear

In a small room theres no need to over complicate things. Some times less is better.
Old 22nd October 2013
Lives for gear

Quote:
Originally Posted by Behind the Glass View Post
Hi all!

I'm a FOH live engineer in a small venue, we've got difficult room with low ceilings, but generally handle feedback fine with our graphics, however, i have had problems on a couple of occasions with vocal effects pedal. I've found that good ways to deal with issues are to take out any compression stages they have on, and to play with the front gain stage (which annoyingly not all pedals have..)