The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
16-24ch digital mixer suggestions ??
Old 18th October 2013
Gear Head

16-24ch digital mixer suggestions ??

Noob here but I've been lurking and trying to read up before posting.

I am looking to buy a digital mixer for my 4-5pc weekend warrior band so that we don't have to rely on crappy house PA or like last gig, useless student sound men who can't deliver monitor sound let along find the stage light switch!
Mackie DL1608 grabbed my attention due to the Ipad control and promise that we could adjust monitor mixes ourselves during a show. I always have my Ipad on a gigeasy mic stand mount for set list etc. anyway so perfect. We also have usually someone that could tweak FOH faders during a set in a pinch using a second ipad/iphone.

Since discovering the Mackie I've discovered the much anticipated iX16 and also the X32 compact as potential options for us in the <$2k range.
I'm interested in finding out what would be the best for us overall. I'm starting to think the X32 compact but am open to suggestions.

What we need...
Ipad remote control (2 places, stage and FOH)
Inputs:12-16
4 separate monitor mixes preferably stereo for IEM
Most will be mono wedges for the time being with 1 moving to IEMs.

Recording is not really a concern, this is for live shows primarily.

From reading it seems like the X32 can output stereo monitor mix for the IEM is that correct? It seems the Mackie DL-1608 can't.

What I don't really get yet is with the x32 do I need the S16 snake and/or the P16-M? Can I send my IEM and other mixes direct from the X32 and mix them through the Ipad app rather than using P16-M?

TIA.
Old 18th October 2013
Lives for gear
I think the DL1608 can link outputs/auxes for stereo IEMs now with version2.