The No.1 Website for Pro Audio
 All  This Thread  Reviews  Gear Database  Gear for sale     Latest  Trending
need advice for a big show
Old 17th October 2013
Lives for gear
need advice for a big show

this is my first time i ve done show this big. 50 + orchestra, choir, drums, 3 guitars, keyboards, 2 main vox. the way i see it, the biggest problems should be positioning and choosing the orchestra mics.
my other concern is the venue, a sports venue with no acoustic treatment at all. you can see it following this link

any advice would be really appreciated. thanks
Old 17th October 2013
Gear Addict

So are you bringing in the PA or?

That room will be really nice to the choir (and maybe orchestra depending on what they play), but obviously it's going to be a very live and boomy. I would work to isolate the guitar amps (if there are any, not sure if they are acoustic or electric), along with any keyboard amps (if player needs it for personal amp, just get it close to them and keep the volume as low as possible). You don't want anymore wash added in this environment as you will be competing with crow-noise already.

If you manage to isolate those elements, you will be in good shape. Obviously the mics used for the orchestra and choir will also pick up the whole room to some extent, so again take extra care to isolate any potential loudness. If the drums are percussion based, I would just let them setup as usual - if a drumkit shows up, ask the player to dampen the kit as much as possible. If they are willing, some fabric (like a small towel) on the cymbals absorbs a decent amount of energy and shortens sustain. This room will sustain for days so you won't miss the extra noise.

If everyone plays nice and the solar system aligns, it may sound pretty damn nice in there, given the flattery a room like that can have on group vocals and strings.
Old 17th October 2013
Lives for gear